The Politics of Palestine

The Politics of Palestine


The total area of the Historical Palestine is 27,450 square kilometers. The Jewish terrorist organizations with great help of the British Empire, occupied around 70% of the Palestinian land in 1948. And in 1967, Israel occupied the rest of the land.


In 1964, the Palestine Liberation Organization PLO was established with the goal to confront Israel and in 1st January, 1965, the Palestinian Revolution began with the Fatah movement launched its first military oppression and declared the start of the arm struggle. The Palestinian National Charter of the PLO defines the boundaries of Palestine as the whole remaining territory of the mandate.


During October 1974 Arab League summit designated the PLO as the “Sole legitimate representative of the Palestinian people” and reaffirmed “their right to establish an independent state of urgency.” In November 1974, PLO was recognized as competent on all matters concerning the question of Palestine by the UN General Assembly granting them observer status as a “non-state entity” at the UN. After the 1988 Declaration of Independence, the UN General Assembly officially acknowledged the proclamation and decided to use the designation “Palestine”.


In 1993, in the Oslo Accords, Israel acknowledged the PLO negotiating team as “representing the Palestinian people”, in return for the PLO recognizing Israel’s right to exist in peace, acceptance of UN Security Council resolutions 242 and 338. As a result, in 1994 the PLO established the Palestinian National Authority territorial administration, that exercises some governmental functions in parts of the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. In April 2011, the Palestinian parties signed an agreement of reconciliation, but its implementation had stalled until a unity government was formed on 2 June 2014.


On 29 November 2012, in a 138–9 vote, United Nations General Assembly passed resolution 67/19, upgrading Palestine from an “observer entity” to a “non-member observer state” within the United Nations system, which was described as recognition of the PLO’s sovereignty. The UN has permitted Palestine to title its representative office to the UN as “The Permanent Observer Mission of the State of Palestine to the United Nations”, and Palestine has instructed its diplomats to officially represent “The State of Palestine”.  On 17 December 2012, UN Chief of Protocol Yeocheol Yoon declared that “the designation of ‘State of Palestine’ shall be used by the Secretariat in all official United Nations documents”, thus recognising the title ‘State of Palestine’ as the state’s official name for all UN purposes.


As of 14 September 2015, 136 members which are 70.5% of the 193 member states of the United Nations have recognised the State of Palestine. Many of the countries that do not recognise the State of Palestine nevertheless recognise the PLO as the “representative of the Palestinian people”. The PLO’s Executive Committee is empowered by the Palestinian National Council to perform the functions of government of the State of Palestine

leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *